|Liubei Pond |
Liubei Pond is a Cultural Relic under Provincial-level Protection. It is located at the foot of Tianzhu Mountain on the north bank of the Minjing River in Yibin. A great poet, Huang Tingjian, was exiled to Yibin in the first year of Yuanfu in Northern Song Dynasty (1098), and he built the pond according to the inspiration he got from “Lan Ting Ji Xu” of Wang Xizhi. The pond was built in a gorge where there were many strangely shaped rocks. When people look up from the bottom of the gorge, what they can see is only a narrow line. On the cliff on both sides of the pond, there are more than ninety inscriptions of poems, calligraphy of celebrities in Song, Yuan, Ming and Qing Dynasties. The pond is in a shape of nine bends with a length of 52 m and a width of 0.5 meter. A little brook flows from the gorge through the nine bends then disappears in the crack of the stones. There are eight stone benches by the side of the pond, where people can sit and drink. The people have named each place near the pond “Fuweng Gully”, “Fuweng Cave”, “Fuweng Rock” and built Lihong Pavilion, Fuweng Tower, Fuweng Temple, Shangu Gate to memorize Huang Tingjian. After the 1980s, the works of some famous modern calligraphers including Zhang Daqian, Zhang Aiping, Huang Binhong, Bao Bichen were engraved in the park. Covering an area of 157 hectares, it is now a place attracting numerous visitors. Its “Qu Shui Liu Shang” and “Bi Dian Dan Di” are among the Eight Famous Scenes in Yibin.